Chocolate Cake & Cookie Butter Frosting

choccake

It pains me to admit that of the last five meals I’ve eaten, I have only personally prepared one of them.  Unfortunately that’s been the story of my life lately, seeing as I think I’m the busiest I’ve ever been in my life.  I feel like I’m always saying I’m the busiest I’ve ever been, and yet I somehow get busier.  Someone recently asked me what days I had off and I realized I actually have none.  The days I’m not at school I’m at work…therefore I haven’t had a lot of time lately to cook or sleep.

I’ve eaten so many good things out though…Just stalk my instagram. YES, I’m that person that instagrams food. Don’t worry about it. You’ll probably like it anyways.

Spring break is upon a number of college students, myself included, but it’s not really any sort of break.  So far I’ve slept past 8 am once and went to a spring training game.  What really shows that I’m on break is that I’ve baked a cake, a dozen cupcakes and prepared one actual meal for myself.  Oh, and that I haven’t put on eyeliner for three days.  I’m loving not having to put on my regular face of makeup, because that ‘makeup for television’ thing gets kind of tiring, especially when you don’t sleep a lot.

This cake isn’t for the light hearted. It makes a ton of cake batter, uses a bunch of butter and it’s definitely not good for you or anything.  It may be good for your mental health and well-being as a human, but if you’re counting calories…This recipe won’t be your friend. Treat yourself sometimes, you guys.  Or make your friends fat (haha no that’s awful). Seriously this recipe made me a two layer cake and a dozen cupcakes. Sharing is caring.

choccake2

Chocolate Cake

3 sticks unsalted butter (room temperature)

2 1/2 cups sugar

1/2 tablespoon vanilla

5 eggs

3 cups buttermilk

3 1/3 cups flour

1 1/2 cups cocoa powder

1 tablespoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

-Preheat oven to 350°.

1.  Cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy.

2.  Beat in eggs.

3.  Mix in buttermilk.

4.  In a separate bowl, sift flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt.

5.  Mix dry ingredients into wet ingredients in small batches.  Mix for about 2 minutes until well incorporated.

6.  Grease and flour two 9-inch circular cake pans, divide batter between the two and bake for 20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Cookie Butter Frosting

1 package (8 oz) cream cheese, room temperature

1/2 (4 tbs) stick of butter, room temperature

1/2 cup cookie butter/biscoff spread (or peanut butter if you like!)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 3/4 cups powdered sugar

1.  Cream together cream cheese and butter until fluffy.

2.  Mix in cookie butter and vanilla extract.

3.  In small batches, mix in powdered sugar until incorporated and frosting is smooth.

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Cake & Cookie Butter Frosting

Leave a comment