Ginger Scallion Dumplings

dumpling collage

So, I got my hair cut this morning by a gorgeous, funny, talented, lady-of-all-trades hair stylist/makeup artist/manicurist. It doesn’t look all that much different from how my hair looked before aside from a bunch of layering and a trim, but it just feels so much bouncier.  I love it.  I just wanted to share that all with you. I really think it’s the little things that make us happy.  That’s my little thing today and trust me, I really need my little thing because I’m feeling this horrible bittersweet mashup of feelings.

I’ve also been listening to country music nonstop.  I know that a lot of people usually hate or love country music.  There’s hardly an in between.  There’s a horrible stereotype about all country songs being about pickup trucks, mud, breakups and beer…while often true, I don’t care.  I think my taste in music really is reflected in my taste for food.  I pretty much like everything—except for capers, soggy/smushy food and pears (except on a FEZ burger).  That translates to heavy metal-core and most R&B slow jams in terms of music that I don’t particularly enjoy.

I like my music loud so that when I sing along in my car the horrible excuse for ‘singing’ doesn’t frighten any other drivers  and make them worry there’s a dying animal somewhere in close proximity.  Oh, I also like to sing with the windows down.  Something about the wind in my new, bouncy, beautiful haircut.

dumplings2

There’s a handful of foods I could probably eat forever if I had to and dumplings are definitely one of those things.  There are so many kinds.  You get to dip them into other things, which I adore.  Pan frying them makes them a little crunchy and oh my, do I love that.  If you’re looking for subtle flavors, go away.  You won’t find them here.

dumplings

Ginger Scallion Dumplings

1/2 lb ground pork (or chicken, turkey, whatvevs you like y’all)

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 sliced scallions

2 tablespoons finely diced fresh ginger

*optional, add 1 or 2 diced white button mushrooms

1 tablespoon soy sauce

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon black pepper

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 tsp sugar

1 package dumpling wrappers

water

oil

1.  Mix ground pork, garlic, scallion, ginger, soy sauce, salt, black pepper, garlic powder & sugar in a bowl until combined.

2.  Place about 1 teaspoon filling into center of dumpling wrapper.

3.  Dip finger in water, wet all 4 edges of dumpling wrapper square.

4.  Fold in half to form triangle, pinch edges to seal.

5.  Repeat until filling is used up.

6.  Put about 1/2 inch of water into the bottom of a large non-stick frying pan, bring to boil.

7.  Flash-boil dumplings, about 45 seconds.  Using slotted spoon, place cooked dumplings on oiled baking sheet.  Don’t let them touch each other or they’ll stick!

8.  Heat about 1 tablespoon of oil in non-stick frying pan, place a few boiled dumplings in pan. Cooked about 1 minute, flip.  Cook until crispy and pretty much the most delicious dumplings ever.

Serve with soy sauce mixed with a little Sriracha.  YUM!

Leave a Reply

