Cinnamon Candied Almonds

ALMONDS2

Confession.  I daydream a lot.  Not so much daydreaming as much as writing a miniature screenplay in my head.  I think I should be hired by Hollywood studios to come up with the horribly awkward yet endearing scenarios where boy meets girl in a romantic comedy.

Just living my life, I’ll probably come up with four to five different movie scenes in a day.  I know because this is written you can’t tell if I’ve taken a break and left my computer, but I did just now.  I left to indulge a craving and found myself at the vending machine.  I stuffed a dollar into the machine followed by two dimes and was rifling through my purse for a nickel BECAUSE A GIRL JUST WANTS SOME CHOCOLATE.  I must have seemed like I was struggling because the kind of cute boy next to me buying a soda stood there for a while after getting his Mountain Dew fix and then tried to offer me a quarter. (I, Thuy Lan, claim all copyright, trademark, creative license and everything if this ever appears in a movie) In my head, I smiled and reached out to take the quarter but then dropped my purse, everything in it and then he dropped his soda which spilled everywhere.  Then he asked me out on a date, saying something about how I needed to buy him a soda and then he could buy me a real meal.  But that didn’t happen, I just smiled, said no thank you, shoved another dollar in the vending machine and bought a Kit Kat.

I mostly live in this imaginary world that takes place in my head.  That world is really liberal with dreams of some sort of sickeningly cute love story and really critical of everything real.  (It’s about to sound real narcissistic up in here) I feel like all my video projects are mediocre, but the grades I get show otherwise.  I hate most all pictures of myself but sometimes they get a bunch of likes on Facebook. I think my teeth are kind of dull but everyone else thinks they’re really white. Sometimes I think things I write for this blog suck, but people read them. They could still suck though.

In my imaginary screenwriter world, right now I’d be cuddled up in front of a fireplace in a quaint coffee shop wearing a cute scarf and cardigan, having an intelligent yet funny conversation with a delightfully handsome fellow, who has just a little bit of scruff and some adorable sweater/button down combo.  We’d be drinking caramel coconut lattes and sharing a bowl of cinnamon candied almonds because it’s fall and a little nippy outside.  But no, it’s 80°, I’m eating tortilla chips and listening to the new Gavin Degraw album.  So indulge in my imaginary life and make some super easy candied almonds.

This shouldn’t even be a recipe, it’s so easy.

almonds

Cinnamon Candied Almonds

2 cups whole almonds (raw or roasted, personally I like them crunchier so I use roasted)

1 cup white sugar

1 1/2 tablespoons ground cinnamon

1/2 cup water

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1.  In large nonstick pan add sugar, cinnamon, water and vanilla.  Stir on low heat until sugar is dissolved and it’s simmering.

2.  Add almonds, stir continuously over medium heat.

3.  Cook about 5-7 minutes, sugar will crystallize on almonds.  Remove from heat immediately and spread onto parchment-lined baking sheet.

4.  Let cool slightly before serving.  Top off ice cream, salads, eat them plain…use your imagination!

Leave a Reply

