Bacon (green) Beans

bbeanstitle

Balance. One of the hardest things to achieve in life. Walking? It’s so hard. It takes babies forever to learn how to do it. Work, school and life? Don’t even. Satisfying needs vs. wants…Do I just want candy or do I need candy? Doing the same eyeliner on both eyes. So much struggling.

I’ve been trying to find a good balance between having fun with my beautiful fun friends during my last semester of college, doing well academically and then prepping myself for the “real world” everyone has warned me about forever. It’s been a bit of struggle mostly because there aren’t enough hours in a day for me to do all of the things. All. Of. The. Things.

Time is passing by so quickly! I’ve always observed people older than myself saying that but I never quite understood it. I wished time would hurry up so I could grow up and go to college and now that time has come and is slowly dwindling, I understand the concept. I remember the first day I moved into the dorms: Wearing a green v-neck tee, denim shorts, converse, unpacking all of the meticulously curated items for my dorm. I remember the first stranger I talked to in the dining hall. A cute blonde boy who looked like he was from California and I told him so.

 In the grand scheme of it all, so little time has passed, but so much has changed. I know I’m a different person from the freshman I started as—I have different ideas for a dream career, a different philosophy on how to live life, different experiences, a different sense of style and more definitive idea of who I am. I still haven’t mastered balance in many aspects of my life, but I’m working to get there.

baconbeansWhile it may seem unrelated, I actually think this quick little side dish is a great concept of balance. A little gluttony and a little bit of greenery for, like, health reasons because you can’t (shouldn’t) eat all bacon always. A little salty, a little sweetness and a lot of just plain goodness.

Bacon (Green) Beans

4 slices thick-cut hickory smoked bacon, chopped

1 lb. fresh, trimmed green beans

1/2 medium sweet onion, sliced

1 clove garlic, minced

1 1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon red pepper flake

1.  Blanch green beans in boiling water with a pinch of salt until just slightly softened, about 3 minutes.

2. Put blanched green beans into ice bath, this will help keep them from overcooking and maintain the bright coloring.

3. Render bacon in large skillet, drain bacon on paper towels after crisp.

4. Reserve two tablespoons of bacon fat from rendered bacon, add onion and garlic to bacon fat in skillet, cook for one minute until slightly softened.

5. Drain and pat dry green beans, add to skillet. Add salt, red pepper flake and cook until green beans are no longer raw but still have bite, about 4-5 minutes.

6. Serve and enjoy! A little parmesan cheese sprinkle is a great addition!

 

Leave a Reply

