Monster Cookies

cookiessgta

My nickname as a kid used to be monster.  I’m not exactly sure why, but I think it has something to do with me causing a lot of trouble.  I’m not sure a lot has changed since then though.  While my trouble is never of the illegal type, a la Breaking Bad or Alexis Neiers, it’s usually more just mischief and shenanigans.  I feel as if every single one of my friends has been embarrassed to be around me at one point or another.  One of my best friends once just walked away from me, leaving me alone because apparently I’m too loud.  My very best friends are the ones that are still around and willingly keep in contact with me despite all of the things I do.  Things I do include but are not limited to the following: fitting into tiny places like dryers, shelves and closets; getting into decorative water fountains, talking way too loudly and a number of different accents in public, wearing animal costumes, throwing money at high school dances and getting attacked by birds.

mischief thuy

The fact that I willingly posted that for all of you friends and strangers to see is beyond me because it may just be one of the most unflattering collection of photos that exist of me.  It also may cause you to never want to be my friend ever, but I’m hoping it makes you want to hang out with me all the time.  If you don’t want to be friends with me, that’s fine I guess but because I’m nice, I’ll still share this recipe with you.  It makes so many cookies. So many cookies for alllllll the friends I have (kidding haha I have no friends I just eat these alone in my room). Also these cookies are kind of non-photogenic, like me apparently.
monstercookies2

Monster Cookies

1 stick of unsalted butter, softened

1 1/4 cup packed brown sugar

1 cup granulated sugar

3 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 jar (12 oz) peanut butter

2 teaspoons baking soda

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

4 1/2 cups quick cooking oats

1/3 cup m&ms

1/4 cup each semi-sweet chocolate chips and milk chocolate chips (or just 1/2 cup of your choice chocolate chips)

1/3 cup chopped walnuts

*optional, add shredded coconut and/or dried cranberries- YUM!

Preheat oven to 350°

1.  Cream the butter and sugar in a large mixing bowl.

2.  Beat in eggs, peanut butter and vanilla.

3.  Using spoon or rubber spatula stir in baking soda, salt and oats.  Once mixed, add in m&ms, chocolate chips and walnuts.  Be careful not to over mix.

4.  Chill dough for 15 minutes in fridge.

5.  Drop heaping tablespoons 2 inches apart on parchment-lined baking sheet.  Bake 8-10 minutes, let cookies cool on baking sheet for 3 minutes before removing to cooling rack.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

