Easy Squeezy Turkey Chili

There’s actually no squeezing involved but it was so much cuter to call it ‘easy squeezy’ than just plain old turkey chili.  It’s finally started feeling a little bit like fall here in Phoenix…The totally brisk temperature of 71°.  It’s almost cold enough to enjoy an actual pumpkin spice latte.  I can wear jeans and a cardigan.

Chili Styled

Arizona is a really, really strange state.  Walking around ASU’s campus today, you would think there was a snow storm on its way.  Girls don’t hesitate to break out their Uggs, scarves and leggings-as-pants as soon as it starts to cool down.  Maybe it’s because I’m from Wisconsin and we actually know how to dress for the weather or because I’m a journalist who’s trying to look professional, but I’m in no hurry to substitute my pants for sheer leggings and my Cole Haan wedges for fuzzy Ugg boots.

Since I don’t get to enjoy a lot of fall (there are no trees here to change color, ugh) I decided to make myself a big old batch of chili…Since food can evoke feelings or something, right?  The grocery store had canned tomatoes on seasonal sale because apparently fall is the time to stock up on canned tomatoes? I have no idea.  What I do know is that I made a nice pot of chili too late during the night and ate a bowl of it sitting on the kitchen floor.  Don’t judge me, just make this (if you want, I won’t force you to do anything you don’t want to), eat it and maybe you’ll understand.

This recipe is extremely customizable.  My little brother loves this chili because it has things he likes and doesn’t have things he hates.  No one in my family likes kidney beans or any other kind of standard chili beans so I just never use them and substitute things we like instead.  So if you like kidney beans, toss them in there. Just don’t ask me over for dinner (actually that would be really really nice, you can if you want to).  It’s a pretty easy way to clean out your fridge/freezer and make a hearty and cheap meal!

chili2

Easy Squeezy Turkey Chili

1 lb ground turkey

1 medium onion, diced

2 cloves of garlic, diced

1 jalapeño pepper, finely diced

1 packet chili seasoning OR the following:

•1 tablespoon seasoning salt

•1/2 tablespoon garlic powder

•1/2 tablespoon chili powder

•1/2 tablespoon red pepper flake

•1 teaspoon cumin

•1 teaspoon sugar

•1/2 teaspoon black pepper

•2 tablespoons flour

1 can diced tomatoes (with the juice)

1 can Busch’s Homestyle Baked Beans

1 green bell pepper, diced

3/4 cup diced white mushrooms

1.  Combine the spices and flour into a bowl, mix (skip if you’re using the packet of seasoning)

2.  Saute onion, garlic and jalapeño with a little bit of olive oil until slightly translucent.

3.  Add ground turkey, break into little bits and brown.  Drain excess fat.

4.  Add spice mixture to ground turkey.

5.  Add tomatoes and baked beans.  Simmer on medium for 5 minutes.

6.  Add green bell pepper and mushrooms, simmer on medium for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.

7.  Serve with a dollop of sour cream and shredded cheddar cheese.

You could also brown the turkey first and toss everything into a crock pot and cook for 2 hours…You can pretty much put anything in a slow cooker.

2 thoughts on “Easy Squeezy Turkey Chili

  1. This was super easy and super yummy! I added a little Cayenne to give it a little kick too! Thank you for the recipe enjoyed very much!

    • I’m so, so glad you enjoyed it! I love the idea of cayenne, I love my food spicy. I sometimes put a little hot sauce into it too.

Leave a Reply

