Buffalo Chicken Bites

Football season is upon us.  It’s been a really long time since I’ve been to a Sunday party centered around food and football.  Let’s be real here. In college people are poor and no one seems to like sharing as much as I do.  School, work and my lack of a social life are also factors in my non-existent football sunday parties.  I get my football fix by making buffalo chicken bites and checking my fantasy football scores.

Instead of piling these puppies on a football shaped platter and serving them alongside a cheese platter and queso (can you tell I’m from Wisconsin?), I bring them to work and tempt my co-workers with doughy, cheesy goodness.  I promise I could eat a whole batch of these by myself.  All 40 or so.  I’ve eaten whole pizzas before.

These take a tiny bit of prep time since I opt for the make-your-own-dough route, but you could easily use pizza dough, crescent rolls or smushed biscuit rounds from a cardboard tube that makes a scary popping noise.

buffalochickenbitesBuffalo Chicken Bites

For the dough:

1 cup warm milk

2 tablespoons brown sugar

1 packet fast rise yeast (2 1/4 teaspoons)

2 1/2 cups all purpose flour 

For the filling:

1 1/4 cups cooked chicken, finely diced

1/2 cup blue cheese

1/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese

1/4 cup hot sauce (Frank’s Hot Sauce is the best for this!)

2 tablespoons melted butter

Preheat oven to 375°

1.  In a large mixing bowl, mix the warm milk with the sugar until dissolved, add the yeast.

2.  Mix in flour until incorporated.  Add a little more if the dough is still too sticky.  You could also put this into a stand mixer fitted with a dough hook but I think kneading is fun (also I’m poor and don’t have a stand mixer)!

3.  Turn dough onto floured surface and knead for a couple more minutes. Smooth into a ball and put into oiled bowl.

4.  Cover with plastic wrap or wet towel and let sit for 2 hours, until doubled in size.

5.  Mix chicken, blue cheese, cheddar cheese, hot sauce and melted butter.

6.  Punch down the dough and divide into 4 pieces.

7.  Roll 4 ropes, about 1 foot long from each section of dough.

8.  Flatten one rope until it’s a rectangle, about 12 x 3 inches.

9.  Place 1/4 of the chicken mixture along the long side of the rectangle, near the bottom.  Roll it up tightly to form a log.

10.  Cut into 1 inch pieces, place on parchment-lined baking sheet.

11.  Let the bites sit at room temperature for 30 minutes to rise a little more.

12.  *Optional: Brush with egg wash or melted butter so the tops brown a little more before baking* Bake at 375° for 10 minutes.

Serve with ranch dressing, celery sticks and extra Frank’s on the side for dipping.

Enjoy them!  I made them twice in the span of three days.  AND ATE THEM ALL BY MYSELF. Kidding. I took them to work.

Leave a Reply

