Lemon Dill Salmon & Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

It’s really hard to tell that I’m not feeding a family of four based on my grocery shopping.  After a long day of classes and wondering what I was going to eat for dinner (you can’t eat Jimmy John’s twice in one day…right?), I hit three different grocery stores.  I consider myself extremely thrifty but able to splurge where needed.  Hellooooo new shoes and Calvin Klein sheath dress!

Let me start off by saying the Hispanic grocery store is one of the most beautiful places on earth.  Phoenix residents, if you don’t know about Pro’s Ranch Market you should.  Produce is so cheap.  It blows my mind.  The most buttery avocados are 4 for 99 cents?  Limes are 3 pounds for 99 cents?  Eight chicken thighs for $3?  Fresh tortilla chips for $2?  Yes, yes, yes and YES!  It’s great for college kids on a budget because you get all kinds of fresh produce for the same price as a party size bag of Cool Ranch Doritos and a gallon of chocolate ice cream.

I also went to Fry’s for some salmon that was on sale and Trader Joe’s for a bag of my favorite green ever…Arugula!  Scour the weekly ads.  You’ll save so much money if you buy what’s on sale and hold onto it for when you’ll need it later.  Freeze marinated chicken, individual portions of seasoned salmon filets, ground turkey for Taco Tuesdays…you name it!

salmon

Yeah, I know my lighting isn’t ideal.  If I even eat dinner, I eat it really late because of my crazy class schedule.  Get over it, it’s delicious either way.

Lemon Dill Salmon

3 oz salmon filet

1 tsp kosher salt

1/2 tsp sugar

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/4 tsp fresh black pepper

dash of crushed red pepper

1/2 tablespoon butter

lemon

fresh dill

1.  Pat salmon dry with a paper towel.

2.  Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

3.  Sprinkle on the salt, sugar, garlic powder, black pepper, crushed red pepper on top of salmon.

4.  Heat up oven-safe pan (I use a stainless steel frying pan, no plastic on the handle), use your choice of oil or butter in the pan.  If you don’t want to sear and finish in the oven, place salmon in a glass baking dish and cover with foil.

5.  Place salmon filet in hot pan, skin side down.  Sear skin side for 1 minute then put into preheated oven.

6.  Cook for about 6-7 minutes.

7.  Top with fresh dill and a pat of butter, squeeze a little lemon juice on top.

Salmon is super simple and doesn’t take much time at all.  If you don’t want to sear it and finish it off in the oven, you can bake it from start to finish, you can sear both sides in a frying pan or throw it on a George Foreman.

salmon2

Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

1 cup cooked quinoa* (keen-WAH)

1/4 cup diced Persian or English Cucumber

3 tablespoons diced red onion

1/4 cup diced tomato

1/4 cup crumbled feta cheese

5 tablespoons Girard’s Greek Feta dressing

*Quinoa, so easy to cook in a rice cooker! 1 part dry quinoa, 2 parts liquid.  I use chicken broth as my liquid.  Make sure to rinse your quinoa before cooking.

1.  Seriously…Mix all the ingredients together. Done.

I served it with a little arugula salad as well.  Just mix some arugula with a bit of olive oil, lemon juice and a sprinkle of black pepper and kosher salt.  Fast, simple and really good for you!  So there goes my first food blog post!  Ahhhh.  Let me know your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

